Fernand Léger National Museum

Musée Fernand LegerMusée National Fernand LégerMusée National Fernand LégerMusée National Fernand LégerMusée National Fernand Léger
316 chemin du Val de Pôme
06410 Biot
Tél. : 04 92 91 50 30
Fax : 04 92 91 50 31
E-mail :
Useful information Access
Bringing together a unique collection of paintings, ceramics and drawings, the collection of the National Museum of Fernand Leger allows everyone to discover this major artist from his vanguard influences to his major cubist colourful compositions of the fifties.
His shaped contrasts and vibrant colors translate the rhythm of the machine, the poetry of the objects and the beauty of the modern city.
At the foot of the village of Biot, in a Mediterranean park, the museum offers to the visitors a rich program of exhibitions, cultural activities (educational workshops, screenings, conferences etc..) as well as audio-guides in 7 languages. The bar of the garden, opens May to October and offers a nice place to relax after the visit.

The museum in a few dates

1955, Fernand Léger in Biot
Few months before his death in 1955, Fernand Leger buys a villa, the farmhouse St. Andrew, at the foot of the village of Biot in a horticulture field. The artist then moved to the Riviera to manage the ceramics industry.
It is here that Nadia Léger, his widow, and George Bauquier, his close associate, decided to create a museum to honor him and promote the knowledge of his work. The founders gathered theirs funds and coordinate the whole project of building, designed by the architect André Svetchine. The project is designed by the landscape architect Henri Fisch. The project includes the building of a huge mosaic, originally planned by Leger for decorating the Hanover Stadium, but he never managed to realize it. The architect uses the dimensions of the project to calculate the proportions of this building, totally dedicated to the monumental work.
"The museum became the National Museum and such as the terms of the donation, the founders remain the directors for life."
1960, the creation of the museum
On the evening of May 13, 1960, an exceptional event happened at the inauguration of the Fernand Leger Museum in Biot. More than five thousand guests flocked to the opening of the first monographic museum in the region.
Under the patronage of Picasso, Braque and Chagall, the launch brings celebrities from the world literature and art, movie stars and politicians. The Fernand Léger museum hallmarks the cultural landscape of the time.
Not far from Biot, other projects on the great figures of modern art are realized soon after: in Saint Paul, Fondation Maeght in Nice in 1964 and the Musée Marc Chagall in 1969.
1969, State’s donation
In 1969, the founders donate to the French State Building the land and a rich collection of over three hundred pieces. André Malraux, Minister of State for Cultural Affairs received the donation during an official event at the Festival Palace in Cannes. The museum became the National museum under the terms of the donation, the founders remain directors for life.
1987-1990, extension of the building
In 1987, the museum is being expanded of which the design and the construction are overgone by the Ministry of Culture to the architect Bernard Schoebel. A double wing comes to extend the exhibition space. Georges Bauquier order to Heidi Melano monumental mosaics to decorate the east and west sides of the building. Those mosaics are inspired  from Fernand Léger’s master pieces:The Milan Triennale (made in 1951) and decoration of the University of Caracas (made in 1954).
2004-2008, the spaces are modernized
Renovations were begun in 2004. The Architect, Marc Barani is responsible for the work to restructure the exhibition spaces and improved the public reception. The furniture is given to Eric Benqué and the refurbishment of the garden landscape was given to Philippe Deliau. This new design allows a better presentation of the permanent collection. The visitor goes through the entire life of Fernand Leger. 
Open every day, except on tuesday, on December 25th, January 1st and May 1st
from 10am to 6pm (may - october)
from 10am to 5pm (november - april)
Prices subject to change
Permanent collection: € 5.50
Reduced price: € 4
Groups: € 5 (from 10 persons)
Free for children under 26 (EU) and the first Sunday of the month
The rates are increased by € 1  during temporary exhibition:
For the duration of the exhibition : € 6.50, reduced € 5, € 6 groups (from 10)

Par l'autoroute, sortie Villeneuve-Loubet RN7, puis direction Antibes, à 2km prendre direction Biot (suivre les flèches)

Post new comment
The underlined fields are mandatory.
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.